Conferred annually since 2007, the Ordre du fier monde is an honorary distinction awarded to persons or groups that have made a significant and exemplary contribution to the Écomusée du fier monde and who have demonstrated their commitment to the mission, principles and philosophy of the institution.


  • Francine Saillant, professor emeritus at the faculty of Social Sciences, Laval university, InterReconnaissance research team representative
  • Ève Lamoureux, professor at the departement of art history at the Université du Québec à Montréal, InterReconnaissance research team representative


  • René Rivard, ecomuseology pioneer in Quebec and  administrator from 2005 to 2020 and 
  • Anne-Marie Lemire, member of the Histoire et saveurs committee and administrator from 2002 to 2020


  • Francine Grimaldi, honorary presidency of the auction since 2007


  • Hugues de Varine, one of the initiators of the ecomuseum movement and longtime collaborator
  • D’un œil différent, partner of an annual event reaching out to people living with an intellectual disability or an autism spectrum disorder


  • Marc-André Godbout, administrator from 2012 to 2017
  • Bingo Masson, event organizer for the benefit of the Écomusée since 2006


  • Diasol, partner of several exhibition projects
  • Serge Gagnon and Richard Milette, volunteers at the annual auction since 2002


  • Centre Afrika, partner of the Journées africaines annual event and of the Afrika Montréal exhibition
  • Jean-François Larose, exhibition curator on the Alan B. Stone exhibition, donator and collaborator on the collections


  • Soraya Bassil, exhibition curator and research officer on the Joseph Venne, architect project
  • Jacques Champagne, generous donator and member of the auction committee from 2009 to 2014
  • Carol Girard, organiser of the Adultes en formation de la CSDM annual exhibition


  • Michel Allard, historian and collaborator on the Joseph Venne, architect project
  • Liliane Stewart, president of the Macdonald Stewart Foundation and generous donator since 1988


  • Lisette Cloutier, founding member, associated with numerous exhibitions and president from 1989 to 1995
  • Simon Blais, generous donator to the annual auction since 2002


  • Pascale Galipeau, administrator and museologist, associated with numerous projects
  • Robert Alexis catering, annual auction partner since 2002


  • André Bachand, generous donator to the annual auction from 2003 to 2010
  • Atelier des lettres, partner to numerous projects since 1999


  • Pierre Mayrand, museology expert, associated with the Écomusée from 1980 to 1990
  • Michel Venne, distinguished volunteer and administrator from 2002 to 2008
  • Service aux collectivités de l’UQAM, major partner since 1980


  • Joanne Burgess, historian, collaborator on numerous projects
  • Encadrex, principal partner of the annual auction


People who were essential in the establishment of the Écomusée at the Généreux bath:

  • René Binette, museologist and co-director
  • André Boulerice, elected member in Sainte-Marie – Saint-Jacques
  • Sammy Forcillo, Saint-Jacques city councillor
  • Michel Gendron, executive director
  • Felice Vaccaro, architect